logo
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar New Posts Search

Go Back   Forums > Penny Stock Picks (trading under $2.00)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2018,
AbbieHowar AbbieHowar is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 0
Default Keep your trading computer separate

I have debated a long time on posting this or not but in the end I just have to do it. This is not a warning about scams, pump and dumps, or that sort of thing but another beast. This would be an issue for someone who runs a lot of money or someone who with secret sauce stuff. I do not fall in either category but I don't want to be snooped either.

I have been through many chat rooms in my brief time as a trader. One of the most alarming one I found recently is that some of the chat rooms, where you can be made a presenter, can snoop in on what you see and what you hear. Most of the time without you knowing it. These software were not made explicitly to snoop in on you but it is a side effect of not adding controls on the client side to prevent such a thing from happening. So just be aware that you can be snooped if you are in a chat room where you can be made a presenter. The fix for this is to put chat rooms in a separate computer. You can also throttle your upload bandwidth but I've found this causes problems for people who don't know what they are doing. The best solution for me has been to get a router and put the chat rooms/news/web browsing on a separate computer from the trading computer.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2018,
abidicefajoj abidicefajoj is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Default

As an added bonus I recently found that my chat box computer got a virus and I could not get rid of it until I did a full re-install from the CD. I found I had a virus when I started the computer in the morning and it kept locking up. Since my trading was done on another pc, I was able to successfully exit my overnight position using the trading computer while the operating system was being reinstalled on the other computer.

Anyway, not all chat rooms will snoop on you but some will if given the chance. Also you are not using your cpu cycles to process video from chat rooms or watching news. Most computers today can easily do multiple things and my trading computer barely uses 2% of its cpu during the day. When the flash crash of 2010 happened I saw people panicking or groaning in the chat room because their computers were locking up and they could not trade. I had no problems. I've upgraded twice since then but the trading computer always stays solely as a trading computer. After an upgrade, the old trading computer becomes the chat box. If there is a spare then that becomes a back-up.

Have a profitable 2013 and I hope post has provided some value to you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2018,
Abnormal Returns Abnormal Returns is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 103
Default

I use a separate machine for forums, chat, news, streaming whatever....keep the trade and investing machine separate if it a workhorse and more than just an occasional broker transaction.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2018,
abuaboyisonib abuaboyisonib is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 0
Default

My thoughts. Good post, security is an issue!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2018,
AddieLowe AddieLowe is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 0
Default

What do you think would be a good/minimum budget and specs should be to build a PC for trading as oppose to buying a branded one from the store?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is .